Pouch With Lining & Strap Tutorial

26 Nov

My first sewing tutorial. To be honest,  there are a lot of other great pouch tutorials out there. I am not a sewing master or something like that. It’s more like sharing my sewing experience..so bare with me, kay?:D

Sorry if I made  mistakes here and there. I’m sure there are. First, the photo I took for this tutorial is not in decent quality..took them in hurry before my trip to Korea, so sorry if my pictures hurt your eyes 😦

This pouch with lining and strap is for my camera. I thought it will be nice to have that kind of pouch for my trip, since I will take so much pictures while I was walking, and I won’t be bothered to take the camera from and put it in my bag again, over and over. With the strap, it will be easier ‘coz I’ll just hang the camera pouch around my neck 🙂

I mentioned it here. The result come in 12 x 8 cm, with around 90 cm strap. It looks like this:

Okay. Here’s what you need to have for this pouch:

Main Fabric (for A, C, D, and strap-not pictured here because it’s too long)

A for casing: 18 x 14 cm (included seams, I used mine 1 cm at each sides)

C for zipper: 6 x 2,5 cm

D for rings : 4 x 4 cm

For strap: 94 x 3 cm (you can change the measures, find the ones that best suited you)

Lining Fabric (for B and E)

B for lining: 18 x 14 cm

E for the lining sides (err..I don’t know the exact name..you’ll understand later): 11 x 5 cm

You’ll need this too (some are optional, though):

I used the rubber sponge to make the pouch more firmer (I know I’m clumsy. I hope  if I happen to drop my camera, it will protect the camera more..haha). But if you don’t like it, feel free to skip it (Besides, it was easier to sew without the sponges. But you’ll get less protection for the things inside the pouch ;)).

Rubber sponge: 15.5 x 11. 5 cm

Sponge: 15.5 x 11.5 cm

Min. 14 cm in length zipper

2 D rings (I don’t know the exact name. Named it D because of its shape)

2 buttons for the strap

Ribbon for embellishment

Jump to tutorial!

1. Cut the zipper into 14cm in length. Attach C at the zipper. Fold it like this:

Top stitch at the brown line.

2. Attach the rings. Grab the D fabric.

Fold it towards the middle.

Fold it to the half. Top stitch at the brown line.

Fold the D into two, attach to the zipper, and top stitch them together.

3. If you want to attach embellishment on your pouch, it’s the time to do it.

I used mine a brown ribbon. First, top stitch the ribbon at A, and then hand-sewn the tied ribbon at the center.

4. Time to attach the zipper! Change the machine’s foot into zipper foot. Make sandwiches of fabric like this..and as usual, top stitch at the brown line.

Flip the A fabric.

It should look like this..

Do the same for the other side. Pin it like this.

Top stitch it.

Do that right, and it’ll come like this.

5. Take a breath. Release it. Now flip them so the lining will be inside the casing. Pull the lining through the zipper:

There you have it!

6. Insert the sponges. Skip it if you don’t like.

It’s a bit tricky at first, but you’ll get there.

7. Attach E to the pouch. Fold E like this..

Pin E to pouch sides. Top stitch them (see what I mean it’s easier without the sponges?).

so stuffed. A bit hard to sew..>__<

8. Flip them so the lining was inside. Here’s what it looks like:

Yay! Almost done!

8. Making the strap. Fold the fabric like this, and top stitch it.

9. Attach the buttons to the strap.

And you’re done!

I use it as camera pouch, but it will come good too for children coin purses, mini cosmetic pouch, etc. 🙂

So..do you understand my tutorial? Maybe my instruction (English is not my native language) or my pictures is not clear enough for you to make this pouch. I don’t mind revision and constructive comments :). I’m still learning and hoping to make it better next time.

This tutorial is for personal use only. If you make it, would you kindly back link me? And I want to see yours, so leave your link here too 😀

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

