Skin Food Buckwheat Loose Powder Review

14 Dec

Wow. Just logged in to WordPress and found out that I have 5 followers to receive email notifications.

It amazed me that somebody out there want to hear (or read, in this case) what I’m saying or on my mind.

Thank you :). I’ll try not to disappoint you all 😀

Here’s another review of one among many of my Korean cosmetics haul.

Skin Food Buckwheat Loose Powder! Take a look..

Pretty design, yes? I admit the reason why I’m interested in buying this is because of  its beautiful design..haha.

But then I browsed about it, and it looks like this loose powder has wonderful oil control, and this one seems to be steady best seller of Skin Food product. Hmm, very tempting.

So, when I went to Korea, I couldn’t resist to buy one. The packaging  is a bit bulky for loose powder..it’s about 4 cm in height!

Open up, and you’ll find this super soft puff..

Above the puff, there’s sticker to ensure the product was sterilized..(Why do I keep on saying unimportant things like this? To make you feel like you have the real product in front of you, actually :D)

Strip the sticker off..

Soft floral scent was wafted as I opened the sticker. It’s not strong, just very pleasant floral scent :D.

Let’s take a look of its color! Lift the shifter..

I got mine #23, the natural beige. There are other shades, #10 (transparent), #21 (skin beige), and #40 (lavender).

I have yellow under toned skin, so I choose the natural one. The other colors will make me look like I’m wearing flour on my face.

Anyway..back onto review, here’s the swatch..

This time, I thought, "Thanks God I only bought one.."

At first, I was like..”what?! It’s too pale!” but I stayed calm and gently rubbed it..

This time, I thought, "Why did I buy just one?"

And it blend perfectly on my skin! Phew..

To sums up,

Packaging: 5/5 (super cute and beautiful, looks like you bought an expensive powder, but in fact  it’s affordable!)

Scent         : 5/5

Formula   : 4/5 (if it stays longer, like 5-6 hours, I’ll give it 5! :D)

Puff            : 5/5 (very soft, easy to handle, no complaint so far)

Price         : 5/5 (around 8.000 won {if I’m not mistaken} for 23 gr, it’s around $7..very affordable for good product like this!)

Overall

A good product indeed. No wonder it’s been a steady best seller. Although I expect it would stay longer, like 5-6 hours (the oil control is about 3-4 hours on my skin), it’s still a keeper for oil control product. The powder is so soft, don’t worry about being overdone in applying it since it would blend perfectly in your skin (but make sure you choose the right shade for you, of course).

The bad side is..most of the shades are made for fair skin women. Not much for darker skin ladies.

But for fairer skin women with oily skin, try this one! It’s fun to use, cute to have, and affordable for a good product like this :).

6 Responses to “Skin Food Buckwheat Loose Powder Review”

  1. ika January 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    hello, thanks for the review. i’m thinking of buying this powder online. do you think shade #21 and #23 has much difference?

    • stilarin January 21, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      I never swatch #21, but I think #21 is suitable for fairer skin and the powder itself is really pale. While #23 is more natural and it suits fair skin with yellow undertone. I hope that’s help 🙂

      • ika January 22, 2012 at 3:22 am #

        thank you. that really helps! have a good day! 🙂

  2. meimei May 30, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    hello stilarin, thanks for your clear review 😉 I have pimple on my face 😦 what do you think if I use this product?

    • stilarin May 30, 2012 at 3:56 am #

      Hi meimei! This powder doesn’t have anti acne property in it, but it’s suitable for oily skin, as it can help your face staying matte during the day. But if you need to cover the pimple, I recommend wearing concealer before applying this, because it has natural-medium coverage. Hope it helps! 🙂

      • meimei May 31, 2012 at 3:05 am #

        I am using BB cream now, and still looking for the suitable loose powder that not make the pimple worse. I think I will buy this one for it’s an oil control! 😀 Thanks u bunch, dear 😉

Leave a Reply

