Welcoming Konad Stamping Nail Art

13 Feb

I know, Konad is been there since 1992 (saw it at the wrapper), and yet I’ve just begun having my fun these days.

It’s just so hard to find nice Konad seller in here. And when the OL shop where I usually buy my make up stash began to sell Konad products, I purchased some as fast as you can spell “Konad”. πŸ˜€

But I didn’t go crazy, just bought 2 image plates (m38 & m56) and essentials like stamper and scraper. I didn’t buy the special nail polish, because I was curious if I could use my usual nail polish instead. Does it work? Well, keep reading..but first, let’s take a look at those image plates..

I know most people has already known (and maybe owned) them, but I have the feeling to keep posting the photos ;p

the back side..

 

I didn't realize it was this pristine back then (now that I have scratched the plate quite abusively..)

And these are essentials, the stamper and the scraper..

Pastel pink! Soo Korean πŸ™‚

If you’re newbie at Konad Experience (mm..me too, actually), you might wonder how to use those tools. But not to worry, you can get plenty explanation, instructions, and videos at their official website, YouTube, etc..just Google it and you’ll find ones.

So, do they really make pretty nail art? Yes, but you must take a LOT of practice beforehand. Basically, it’s just putting nail polish that’s left in the plate to your nails by stamping it. It’s not that easy as it looks at first, but once you get used at using them, you’ll get those pretty nail art in a few minutes.

The important point is, you must work fast, especially after you scraped the nail polish on the plate. The excess on there is very fast drying, since what’s left is just a thin layer. What I do: holding the scraper with my right hand, while my left hand is holding the stamper. So I could move the excess to the stamper just seconds after I scraped the nail polish. Here’s my attempts at getting the Konad Experience:

Even it took lots of practice to have this far-from-perfect-nail-art..

I didn’t use the special nail polish, so the result came to this, a rather low-saturated white color. Now I learn they do tell the truth about saying we should use their special nail polish (5 times thicker in formula compared to usual ones).

Some say usual nail polish can be used, but make sure it has good pigments in the formula. How to know it has or hasn’t? Well, if you can get the color on your nails as vivid as the color you see in the bottle with just one layer, then you get the good pigmented nail polish, and you may use it to stamp your nails.

I used a white nail polish come from Korean brand, The Saem. Quality is not bad, a rather ordinary nail polish that would work like the ordinary nail polish should :D. I used it on here too.

There’s one funny fact about this nail polish, though..it smells like Vicks VapoRub, you know, that menthol cream. But the menthol scent is not noticable anymore when it’s drying. Hmm..if the scents linger even after it’s drying, I wonder if i can use it as inhaler! No, no, just kidding :D.

Here’s my another attempt at Konad Experience:

Wrap the nails with white ribbons!

None of my attempts is interesting enough to be made into tutorial, so I’m gonna practice a little more, growing my collection of nail polishes, and hoping that I’ll come up with some ideas at this Konad Experience :).

Have you tried using Konad? Or maybe using the dupes of Konad? Any special tips you would care to share? Just let me know, it’s always nice having feedback from people reading my blog :D.

Thanks for stopping by!

4 Responses to “Welcoming Konad Stamping Nail Art”

  1. Blaze Danielle March 8, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    How fun! I’ve never tried this before, but I really like the results! I love the tiny detail! Thanks for the tutorial! πŸ™‚

    • stilarin March 9, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Try it! It’s fun and addicting πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  2. Mchan August 20, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    Good post. I’m now in Seoul looking for Konad plates but can’t see them anywhere. Not in Nature house as so said. Any idea ? I’d appreciate some help!!!!!!

    • stilarin August 27, 2012 at 7:57 am #

      Although konad plates are made in Korea, I myself never seen any of them when I visited Seoul. I got mine via online seller in Indonesia, but I think there are many other online sellers..e-bay, perhaps? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

